April Alisa Marquette's Blog

January 23, 2010

Disappointment

So the book I was telling you about– the cute little caper –turned out to be a dud. Sadly it fell flat, and all after such a good start. I was halfway through the book thinking, this is great. Then bam, characters started going every which way, and coming all out of character. That I despise in a book, because then the reader gets lost.

I kept reading though, feeling like maybe the author would redeem things and get us back on track. Not so. It  was simply convoluted from there forth. And the two lead characters who had been so promising in the beginning never did get to have the glorious sex that the author spoke of. Ah but such is life, and such are the disappointments of those who read.

That was a lesson for me. Stick to the story! If someone is reading me, I want to remain true. If not, what was the point of beginning? As a writer I want to give you outcome, and fullness in that. Perhaps you won’t get the outcome you desire, while reading one of my books, but I will definitely try to make reading something that I wrote worth your while.

On to the next thing. And don’t even ask the name of that book. Perhaps it was Hapless, or something like that. I honestly can’t remember. 🙂

2 Comments »

  1. Mwaha! He chickened out of the sex scene. This is why everything went wrong. 😉

    Comment by uninvoked — January 23, 2010 @ 9:46 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

