April Alisa Marquette's Blog

August 16, 2010

More about my ‘Cohort Trilogy’

2nd in The Cohort Trilogy

Last time we ‘met,’ I was telling you about my novel Progression, which is the second install in The Cohort Trilogy. In this particular book a question is answered…

But first a little background to catch us up. In the first book, called Absolution, as some of you know, our gay male character, Beau, was betrayed, by one of his female cohorts. Girlfriend did this by by cavorting with Beau’s man, but what I didn’t get a chance to tell you last time was that girlfriend  had a secret. It was something that would surely add to the drama that the cohorts were already experiencing…if the secret got out. I can’t tell you what it is. You’ll have to read the first novel, Absolution to find that out. However, I can tell you one thing… the secret is not good.

Therefore, in Progression, the second book, readers find out the culmination of ‘the secret’ – that is, if it got out. LOL

In Progression, readers also get to meet our lovely gay Beau’s mother. This woman was out of his life for a good while. Again, you’ll have to read the first book to find out why; but now she’s back. She has also gotten ‘involved’ with the very wrong person. Mama Dearest – not her name — has become entangled with Beau’s ex, the skanky red-haired Sandal!

Can any good come of this union? Again, you’ll have to read to find out. You will also need  to read Progression, the sequel, in order to see the other ways in which our cohorts may or may not have progressed. In the second  novel, there is laughter, sometimes it may just pop out of you. (As a writer, I am actually that good, and I’m not being braggadocious—just real.) Also readers, you’ll  note that that there is an emotional element as well. Those who have read it, have called Progression an emotional ride. I however, have likened this tale to a roller coaster, because it has ups and downs, and twists and turns. Readers seemingly get jerked around, just like on a real roller coaster, as we zoom up one hill, only to plummet down another! I feel it’s all part of the flava, and it keeps readers wanting more, it keeps them desiring to turn pages.

One woman told me that she stayed up all night trying to find out what would happen, although she needed to be up early the next day for work. I was pleased that she was so interested, because it is my endeavor to create books that pique the curiosity. Although I want to entertain, I also try to write books that make readers think, and that is what I am endeavoring to do now, as I work on the third book in The Cohort Trilogy — the book that I wanted to tell you about.

It is called Iniquities, and this novel happens to focus on our lovely gay hunk Beau; it depicts more about his life than the first two books combined. ‘Iniquities’ gives us an in-depth look at Beau. We get to see him at work, at play, and in love, or lust – whichever he chooses. We see his memories and become privy to his innermost thoughts. Plain and simply put, in Iniquities we find ourselves in Beau’s world. This novel is steamy in places and other areas just may cause readers to hold their breath…

But I’ll tell you more about it. You know I will. Just meet me back here, real soon; and remember. If your day isn’t going well, simply decide to start it again. Find your ‘calm place,’ then ask for Wisdom. She will show up, and then you’ll be off again– doing your thing!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

