April Alisa Marquette's Blog

November 17, 2010

Is DWTS A Dancing Contest or a Popularity Contest?

I am so disappointed, actually I feel betrayed. Sure, it may seem petty, but I have to talk about it. I’ve been watching ABC’s ‘Dancing With the Stars’ (DWTS) on television, and as a writer, editor and motivational speaker , I don’t have a lot of time to just kick it. So this has been my little gift to myself, the time to sit and absorb the music, the dance, and the beauty. The thing is: now it’s time for the finals… and my favorite is gone. What kind of foolishness is this? I was rooting for Brandy and Jennifer. However, now I have to sit back and see how I feel, now that one of them is gone.

Like Fox t.v.’s ‘American Idol,’ ‘Dancing’ is starting to get on my nerves. Why? Because the audience gets to vote. Hey, I’m all for democracy, but I still think there should be some type of DWTS electoral college. I believe the judges should have the last say, or they should at least be able to rescue someone if the voting public, the viewing audience gets it wrong. And I say the viewers got it wrong last night, because there is no way that Brandy the singer, who has blossomed into a wonderful dancer, should have gone home. The fun of the show was knowing that she and actress Jennifer Grey, a superb dancer in her own right, were going to be in the finals.

The excitement, for me, was that they would face off, against each other, since they happen to be the top two dancers. Both have beautiful moves, they give it their all — granted Jennifer cried a little too much for me, and someone said that Brandy wanted the Mirror Ball Trophy a little too much — but each dancer has to have their quirks right? However, the other people who are left to go into the finals… honestly, I don’t think they should be there, plain and simple. Bristol Palin seems to be a sweet, and she appears to slowly be emerging from her shell, quite possibly stepping out of her famous mother’s shadow. Kyle Massey happens to be a Disney favorite; he is charming and such a showman! But he and Bristol are not the greatest dancers, to put it plainly. Both have repeatedly been in the lower scoring tiers. In my opinion, at least one of them should have to watch from home, or they should have to watch the finals from the sidelines. Yet they are in the finals!

To the show producers I have something to say. If the judges have given a dancing couple the lowest scores, and this is consistently the case, eject that couple. Applaud them for effort, but eliminate them, let them go home. Or other viewers may begin to feel like I feel. They may even ask the question, does popularity matter more than achievement? Or perhaps viewers may ask: is the show more about who (or whose family) can best manipulate the media? Producers, you hired the judges because they are professionals; they know dance, and theory. They know what true dance aficionados are looking for, whereas the viewing audience may simply see the show — not as a dance contest, but as a popularity contest.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.